Pokemon Go Image

After the class discussion last week I realised I had to come up with a new idea due to copyright issues as the base image had to be my own. I brainstormed last night and explored the sites Tumblr and Unsplash for some inspiration. The themes that were really influential and assisted my brainstorming process were :

  • real/unreal
  • old media/new media
  • connection/disconnection
  • selfie/portrait

Playing on the theme ‘real/unreal’ I decided to incorporate Pokemon Go into the image as I remember exploring the issue of Virtual Reality in class and in Assessment 2. Below I have documented my editing process.

 

You can see here I put a black and white effect on the original picture in order to link to traditionalism and old media. I then cropped the colourful phone screen in my aim to have the phone screen stand out against the black and white background. Not only will this attract attention to the subject but it also symbolises the overbearing power technology is having on societal norms.

Pokemon Go .jpg

In the final image I decided to make the font blue and white to link to Facebook’s theme. It also stands out against the black and white background and partially links to the colours of Pokemon Go. For ethical reasons, I wasn’t sure if I had to ask the mans consent to keep the photo as it was a pure coincidence that he was in the image so to overcome this issue I blurred his face.

I have made no other adjustments to this image as I hope to use it for the final assessment.

Leave a Reply

